On the annual Christmas Walk
Sue and Martin's Trips Programme

Archives - 2004

2004
 
Wednesday 22 December Lymm - met 7.30pm at the northern end of Lymm Dam (SJ 680 869) for a pre Xmas stroll
Sunday 5 December Tideswell - met 10.30am at Car Park in Tideswell Dale, south of Tideswell (SK 154 742), or earlier at cafe in Tideswell. Bar meal at Monsall Head
Tuesday 30 November Burrs and Summerseat - met 7.30pm at Bury Metro Station for a 5 mile walk to Ramsbottom
Thursday 28 October Broadoak - met 7.30pm at the Bull's Head, High Lane (SJ 951 853) for a circular walk along the Macclesfield Canal and the Middlewood Way
Sunday 10 October

The Hope Moors & Tors Challenge - a 20 mile LDWA event starting at Hope. Entry forms to be submitted by 5 October

Wednesday 29 September Beacon Hill - met 7.30pm at the Car Park in Simon's Lane above Frodsham (SJ 518 766) for the familiar 4 mile stroll at the start of the Sandstone Trail (not so familiar on a dark damp night!)
August/September 2004 Pyrenean High Level Route
Wednesday 14 July Even Deeper Cheshire - met 7.30pm at the Swettenham Arms in Swettenham village, NW of Congleton (SJ 800 672)
Thursday 8 July Bike ride from Roman Lakes Leisure Park, Marple (SJ 969 878) - met 7.30 for a 12 mile circuit via Strines and New Mills (repeated 14 June 2005)
Saturday 3 July Hopegill Head from Braithwaite - after setting up camp at Braithwaite (NY 234 235), leave from there at 6.00pm for an evening above Coledale
Saturday 3 July Met at 9.30am at Bowness Ferry Car Park (SD 398 959) for a leisurely day's ride around Windermere (approx 20 miles) Route details
Wednesday 30 June Edale - met 7.30pm at the main Car Park by the railway (SK 124 853) for a walk along Kinder's south edge Report
Saturday 26 June The Welsh 3000s - all 15 summits over 3000ft in Snowdonia in one day. Unfortunately cancelled due to marriage of support team. See Welsh 3000 page for details of our successful attempt in 2003
Wednesday 16 June Whitbarrow East and Lord's Seat - met 7.30pm at Raven's Lodge (SD 461 853) for a 6 mile summer's stroll in the South Lakes
Wednesday 9 June Bike ride above Ripponden - met 7.30pm at Car Park on Royd Lane coming into Ripponden (SE 040 198) for an interesting 8 mile ride
Thursday 3 June Deepest Cheshire - met 7.30pm at the Stags Head in Great Warford, SW of Alderley Edge (SJ 814 771)
Thursday 20 May Jubilee Tower and Damas Gill - met 7.30pm at Jubilee Tower Car Park (SD 542 573) for a 5 mile stroll above Morecambe Bay
Wednesday 12 May Bike ride from Bollington - met 7.30pm at the Redway Tavern (SJ 937 772)
Thursday 6 May Arnside - met 7.30pm at the promenade (SD 453 786) for a 5 mile walk around the coast and back over Arnside Knott
30 April to 4 May Martin's final Munro weekend. The Saddle, from Shiel Bridge
Thursday 22 April Old Salford and the Castle Irwell Gorge (G-Mex to Heaton Park) - met 7.00pm at G-Mex Metro station for a 5 mile walk to north Manchester (return by Metro)
Fri/Sun 16-18 April A stroll with Alastair Roberts up some Scottish Hills of his choice. Braeriach, Sgairneach Mhor and Beinn Udlamain
Wednesday 14 April Burton - overlooking the Dee Estuary - met 7.00pm at Burton Marsh (SJ 301 747) for a 5 mile walk in 'Cheshire's last wilderness'. Watched short-eared owl hunting
Thursday 1 April Old Glossop - met 7.00pm at the Bulls Head, Old Glossop (SK042947), for a 4 mile stroll and a curry afterwards
Fri/Sun 19-21 March

Kirkby Stephen YHA weekend - organised by Sue Williams

Fri/Sun 12-14 March Final UMIST Hiking Club annual dinner, due to University merger, at The Castle Inn Hotel, Bassenthwaite on 13 March
Tuesday 9 March

Met at The Badger (SJ666605) in Church Minshull (B5074 south from Winsford) at 7.30 pm for a 6 mile circuit involving the Shropshire Union Canal

Fri/Sun 27-29 February Blackwater Hostel at Kinlochleven
Sunday 15 February For those who can't get to Martin's birthday meal...... 10 am at the Old Hotel (Dungeon Ghyll) (NY285061) for a stroll, hopefully aided by axes and crampons!, up Bow Fell and perhaps on to Crinkle Crags and beyond
5-20 February British Council/University of Nottingham trip to University of Surabaya, Indonesia. Sue took part in teaching pharmacists about Drug Information and promoting clinical pharmacy in Indonesia. Report
Sat/Sun 7-8 February Canadian Ski Marathon - up to 160km of tranquility and beauty through the Quebec countryside from Lachute to Montebello to Buckingham. See Martin's report on his 2004 experience
Wednesday 7 January Shutlingsloe from Trentabank Car Park, starting at 7.30 pm (SJ962712)
Saturday 3 January Get rid of that hangover with a stroll in the Goyt Valley from the Car Park at Pym Chair (SJ995767). 10 o clock start, with a break in the Cat & Fiddle (food served)